分析

ICO损失市场分析

http://cryptoconsulting.info/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/kripto.jpg

Initial Coin Offering (ICO) 指为了吸引加密货币资金而进行的初始数字货币发行。ICO是传统金融体系之外的众筹形式之一。

2014年以来,ICO越来越受到人们的青睐,到2017年达到了顶峰。根据Soinschedule.com的数据显示,在过去的四年中,ICO市场的动态如下:

  • 2014 — 0.26亿美元;
  • 2015 — 0.14亿美元;
  • 2016 — 2.22亿美元;
  • 2017 — 30亿美元

20147月至20175月,共有117个项目参与了ICO,其中有56项取得了成功,所吸引的总投资额达3.78亿美元。并且这56个成功实施的众筹中有34种代币已经上市Coinmarketcap交易所,目前它们已能在加密交易所中自由交易。它们的市值为11.6亿美元,之前这34个代币项目通过 ICO共筹集了1.5亿美元,因此可以看出它们的美元价值增长了近7倍。

2017年是ICO史上的转折点在这一年的三个季度内参与ICO的公司数量已经上升到了300家。在前半年内ICO共为项目筹集了7.97亿美元。在2017年的3个季度内201个项目筹集了约30亿美元。到目前为止,众筹还在积极开展中,而所筹集的资金也在逐日增加。

因此,可以说,在2017年,几乎每一天都会出现一个想要借助ICO筹集资金的新项目。然而,随着ICO的日益普及,那些未达到既定目标的项目数量也在不断增加。截至20177月,这一比例占总项目数的7%,8月份为54%,9月份为66%。

大部分支持代币的项目均会经历不同的研发阶段:从想法到Beta测试各不相同 。此外,这些项目中的很多仅仅是为了利用加密货币的增值和谋取缺乏经验投资者的利益。并非所有使用ICO的项目都能够实现既定目标,并为投资者带来实实在在的好处。而造成项目不成功的几个原因可能有如下几种:

  • 团队薄弱项目团队可能缺乏经验或没有能力实施项目;
  • 项目业务模式发展欠佳,由此项目可能会面临难以克服的困难;
  • 市场分析流于表面项目实施的产品可能不具备市场上提取利润所需的水平;
  • 不合格的顾问或不存在顾问;
  • 欺诈。

Chainalysis公司研究统计发现,在2017年内项目公司通过以太坊ICO筹集的资金的14%为诈骗分子所窃取,即总筹款16亿美元中的2.25亿。由于这种欺诈行为,共使30 000位投资者沦陷,平均每人的损失达7 500美元。与投资者金融资金相关的网络犯罪行为的增长速度要比通过ICO筹集的资金额增加的速度要快。自20173月以来,这两项的指标都出现了显著的增长。

如果发行单位顺利分配的代币数量超过其设定目标的75%,那么该ICO 项目就可以被认定是成功的。由此大部分代币发行单位都为自身设定了小的发行目标。而判定项目是否成功所需要做的就是将项目的既定目标与实际结果进行比较。那些筹集的资金少于设定目标75%的项目就被认定是不成功的。

根据20176月数据显示,只有1个项目没有达到在ICO框架内设定的目标。然而,在接下来的几个月里,情况却发生了根本性的变化71日到925日,共有51个面临瓦解的ICO项目。这意味着在此期间,ICO的失败率已经上升至59%。

尽管甚至连不成功的ICO 也能为项目筹集到用于开发和实施想法的既定资金,但在大多数去情况下这些项目代币的价格却将永远会受到损害。并且,当ICO 出现不成功现象时,所筹集的资金也会出现暴跌:ICO收入的平均指数从20177月的400万美元到20179月已下跌至200万美元。并且,在此期间ICO筹集的总资金额的43%21个项目)都无法达到100万美元。

那些被参与某个项目ICO的前景所吸引的潜在投资者,通常都是年轻且充满活动的人,他们都为了获取金融独立而努力。每一位投资者都是独立的个体,他们对ICO和项目有着自己独到的见解和期待。然而,投资者行为是存在着一些共同标准的,通过这些标准就可以将这些投资者进行分类。

例如,西方投资者平均准备向ICO项目投资$ 1 500$ 5 000。他们的年龄约为29岁,每年的收入为$ 75 000。西方投资者参与ICO 是为了保存及增值自己的资产,他们会将资金分配给不同的项目,并选出最成功的项目,譬如说所选项目的代币汇率会像比特币一样飙升。西方投资者在对项目的前景、自己的利益、项目团队、白皮书和专家建议等进行评估的同时,是非常乐意投资ICO的。并且,在美国公民中可以发现一种较为激进的投资趋势,而欧洲投资者则对自己的决定更为谨慎和严格,亚洲居民则会对项目仔细研究一番并需要很长的时间才能作出投资的决定。

俄语国家ICO投资者的平均年龄为25-34岁。该领域的投资者中有36%是IT专家,12%是营销人员,10%是私营企业家。大多数说俄语的投资者准备投资ICO的金额从100美元到499美元(32%)不等,低于49美元的投资者占8%,超过10000美元的投资者占 – 2%。

尽管存在着种种心理差异,但绝对所有的投资者都很关心投资项目的选择,并有着共同的担忧:他们害怕会投资到一个骗局、担心项目会不赚钱、忧虑项目实施可能出现的旷日持久性。为了尽可能避免所有可能的陷阱,在购买项目代币之前投资者应研究一下项目的团队和其在社交网络中的活动内容,分析媒体渠道并根据自己的账单展开研究。但遗憾的是,这些研究方法中没有一个能够保证投资者在选择项目时能百分百成功并能顺利从中获利。

ICO结构中缺乏相应的监管制度和能计算项目实际盈利能力的机制,这就导致了投资利润损失指标的快速增长。在这方面,对于能降低进入市场的门槛、简化ICO参与及实施程序、防止欺诈和保证安全投资的应用工具的开发和推出正变得越来越迫切。

VC Mangrove Capital针对204ICO项目进行的研究表明,ICO的平均收益率为1320%。而如果存在针对资金流进行监管的ICO自我监管机制,那么该指标至少会增加1.5倍。

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

To Top

Analytics

Analysis of ICO Market Losses

http://cryptoconsulting.info/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/kripto.jpg

Initial Coin Offering (ICO) is used to attract cryptocurrency funds. ICO is one of the forms of crowdfunding outside the traditional financial system.

The popularity of ICO is gaining momentum since 2014, and in 2017 reached its peak. According to Soinschedule.com, for the last 4 years the following dynamics of the ICO market had been observed:

  • 2014 – $ 0.026 billion;
  • 2015 – $ 0.014 billion;
  • 2016 – $ 0.222 billion;
  • 2017 – $ 3 billion

From July 2014 to May 2017, 117 projects participated in the ICO, 56 of which were successful and attracted $378 million of investments in total. 34 tokens from 56 successful crowdsales have been included in Coinmarketcap listing and today are freely traded in the cryptocurrency market. Their market capitalization accounts for $1.16 billion. In total, these 34 projects raised about $150 million within the ICO, and their dollar value increased eight-fold.

The year 2017 was a turning point in the history of the ICO – in the first three quarters of the year, the number of ICO campaigns increased to 300. In the first half of the year, ICO allowed projects to raise capital in the amount of more than $797 million. In total for 3 quarters of 2017, 201 projects raised about $3 billion investment through the ICO. To date, the crowdsales continue to be quite active, and this amount is increasing every day.

Thus, we can say that in 2017, there was a new project that sought to attract funding via the ICO almost everyday. However, along with the growing popularity of ICO, the number of projects that do not reach their goals has also increased. In July 2017, their share was 7% of the total number, in August – 54%, and in September – already 66%.

Most of the projects that stand behind the tokens are at various stages of development – from the level of idea to the beta version. In addition, many of these projects are aimed only at exploiting the growth of the cryptocurrencies and the interest of inexperienced investors. Not all projects that have launched the ICO are able to achieve their goals and bring real benefits to investors. Failure can overtake the project for several possible reasons:

  • weak team – the project team may be inexperienced or incapable of bringing the project to implementation;
  • Poor development of the project business model, as a result of which the project may face insurmountable difficulties;
  • insufficient analysis of the market – the product of the project implementation may not have the required level of demand for getting profit in the market;
  • incompetent advisors or lack thereof;
  • fraud

According to Chainalysis, for the year 2017, fraudsters appropriated about 14% of the funds raised by projects using the Ethereum-based ICO, namely about $ 225 million out of $ 1.6 billion. As a result of fraudulent activity, about 30,000 investors suffered losses with an average of $7,500. Cybercrime in relation to investors’ financial resources is growing faster than the amount of investments attracted within ICO. The jump in both these indicators has become especially noticeable since March 2017.

ICO project can be considered successful if the issuer managed to distribute more than 75% of the tokens from the goal set by it. Most of the issuers of tokens indicate their goals, setting a fixed level with a small tolerance. All that remains to be done for the success of the project is to compare the stated objectives of the project with its actual results. The project, which collected less than 75% of the planned target, is considered unsuccessful.

According to data for June 2017, only 1 project did not reach its goal set in the framework of the ICO. However, the picture changed radically in the following months – from July 1st to September 25th, 51 ICO were launched, which were expected to fail. This means that during this period the percentage of ICO failure has risen to 59%.

Despite the fact that even an unsuccessful ICO allows the project to attract a certain amount of money for the development and implementation of the idea, in most cases the value of the tokens of such projects remains compromised forever. Additionally, in the event of unsuccessful ICO, the level of collected capital is rapidly declining – the average ICO return of $4 million in July 2017 which fell to $ 2 million in September 2017. At that, 43% of the total ICO in this period (21 projects) could not collect even $ 1 million.

A potential investor who may be interested in the prospect of participating in an ICO project is usually a young and dynamic person who is striving for financial independence. Each investor is an individual with his own views on the ICO and expectations from the project. However, there are some general criteria for investor behavior that allow them to be grouped together.

For example, a Western investor, on average, is ready to invest in the ICO project from $ 1,500 to $5,000. His age is about 29 years, the annual income is $75,000. He takes part in ICO with the aim of preserving and multiplying personal funds, allocating investments for different projects and identifying the most successful one, the price of the token of which will increase like bitcoin price. He is willing to invest in the ICO, evaluating the project’s prospects, his benefits, the project team, the white paper and expert opinions. At the same time, there is a tendency of rather aggressive investment among US citizens, European investors are more careful and discerning in their decisions, residents of Asian countries carefully study information about projects and take a long time to invest.

The average age of the Russian-speaking investor in ICO is 25-34 years. 36% of investors in this segment are IT specialists, 12% are marketers, and 10% are private entrepreneurs. Most Russian-speaking investors are ready to invest in ICO from $100 to $ 499 (32%), 8% are ready to invest up to $49, and only 2% can invest over $10,000.

Despite all the cultural differences, absolutely all investors pay close attention to the choice of the project for investment and have common fears – they are afraid to invest their money in a scam or not to make money on the project, and worried about the possibility of a protracted project implementation deadlines. In order to avoid all possible pitfalls before investing in the project’s tokens, investors study the project team and its activity in social networks, conduct media channel analysis, and research on their own. Unfortunately, none of these research methods is able to guarantee the investor success of the project chosen by him and the possibility of getting profit from it.

The lack of a regulatory system in the ICO structure and the mechanisms that can calculate the real profitability of a project contribute to a rapid increase in the indicator of losses among investments. In this regard, the development and launch of application tools that will reduce the threshold of entry to the market, simplify participation in ICO and its implementation, protect against fraud and guarantee safe investment is becoming more relevant.

According to VC Mangrove Capital, conducted on the basis of 204 ICO projects, the average yield of ICO is 1320%. The possibility of self-regulation in the ICO structure due to the existence of a mechanism for controlling the investment flow will increase this indicator by at least 1.5 times.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Crypto Consulting FZE
LICENSE NO. 2810
Free copying and distribution of materials from the Cryptoconsulting site is allowed only with the indication of an active link to Cryptoconsulting source. Specifying a link is also mandatory when copying content to social networks or print editions.

Copyright © 2017 CryptoConsulting

To Top
Authorization
*
*
Registration
*
*
*
A password has not been entered
*
Password generation